Jeanie’s Java Lets You Take in Nature’s Beauty While You Eat and Drink

By Julie Bissinger

Jeanie's Java leases space from the Great Outdoors Nursery on South Congress. Photo by Julie Bissinger

Jeanie’s Java truly is another of Austin’s hidden gems.  I had no idea the coffee shop existed until I stumbled upon on it while visiting the Great Outdoors Nursery with my roommate.  Jeanie’s Java blends in with the nursery’s trees and plants, so it took me a minute to realize the building was a coffeehouse.

Jeanie’s Java takes advantage of its location, though.  The coffee shop, located at 2730 S. Congress Ave., leases its space from the nursery and is a separate business.  The outdoor patio overlooks the nursery’s gardens, allowing patrons to view flowers, plants, trees and yard decorations.  The air also feels cleaner due to all of the vegetation.

The outdoor patio at Jeanie's Java overlooks the Great Outdoors Nursery. Photo by Julie Bissinger

If you are susceptible to allergies, I’d recommend sitting inside.  The indoor seating area is much smaller but still offers a unique dining and coffee drinking experience.  There is a chalkboard, which patrons are encouraged to draw on, that spans the length of the coffee shop’s entrance.  Using the large pieces of sidewalk chalk provided, I drew on the board as I waited for my food.  This made me feel like a kid again.

Jeanie's Java encourages patrons to draw and write on the chalkboard wall near the coffee shop's entrance. Photo by Julie Bissinger

Jeanie’s Java uses organic beans grown locally in Austin for their coffee.  I could taste the quality of the beans in the iced coffee that I ordered.  The coffee menu includes drip coffees from Colombia and Peru and a variety of espresso drinks.  Jeanie’s Java boasts a large smoothie menu, featuring flavors like Peanut Butter & Jelly and Soy Berry Blast.  Chai tea and and organic flavored teas are also available.

The sandwich menu caught my eye, so I ordered a tomato, basil and mozzarella hot-pressed sandwich.  Although it took awhile to arrive, the sandwich tasted really good.  Jeanie’s Java serves salads in addition to both hot and cold sandwiches.

The tomato, basil and mozzarella hot-pressed sandwich came with tortilla chips and hummus. Cold sandwiches and salads are also available. Photo by Julie Bissinger

Jeanie’s Java is the perfect place to enjoy the weather while eating good food and drinking quality coffee.  Next time you find yourself out near South Congress, definitely stop by Jeanie’s Java.

6 responses to “Jeanie’s Java Lets You Take in Nature’s Beauty While You Eat and Drink

  1. Annika Erdman

    This sounds like such a neat little place! And I just remembered, I was driving on Burnet Road the other day and saw a coffee place called Monkey Nest, maybe it’d be worth checking out!

  2. Coffee and flowers? I’m sold.

  3. I wasn’t sure where to leave this comment, but you guys should really check out Dolce Vita and Quacks…both are off of Duval and are awesome coffee shops!

  4. Sounds like a cute place. I’m glad they serve food too, and not just the finger, brown-baggable stuff like Starbucks. The atmosphere sounds nice too, I’d like to look at vegetation while sipping a beverage. This sounds like a more floral version of Cherrywood Coffeehouse.

Leave a Reply

