Make Flightpath your Hyde Park home office

By Lara Berendt

The Flightpath Coffee House interior

Flightpath's interior is chic on its own, but rotating art shows enhance its appeal. Photo by Lara Berendt.

College students and the self-employed know that some coffee houses just don’t provide the ideal environment for being productive. Loud music, rowdy hipsters or ambient sports noise from a big tv can be serious distractions when you’re trying to get work done. The Flightpath Coffee House actually proclaims on their website that except for a few occasions when they’re hosting events there, it’s “guaranteed to be a quiet place to come and study, work, or simply get your taxes done. We are the home office away from home.”

At Duval and 51st streets in Hyde Park, Flightpath has a nice outdoor patio and a cheerful interior furnished with couches, sizable tables and chairs. Along with their full coffee menu, they serve bagels, pastries, quiche, sandwiches and pizza. Today I ordered a cappuccino and slice of banana bread, grabbed a table and set up shop.

Flightpath Coffee House cappuccino and banana bread

The shop doesn't have a kitchen, but they serve food delivered fresh daily from several local vendors. Photo by Lara Berendt.

My food and drink were fine, but I was most impressed by the atmosphere. It was wonderfully quiet, with mellow classic jazz tinkling in the background. The people around me were mostly alone at tables, focused on their books or laptops. No chattering toddlers or boisterous, socializing groups of friends (although they do serve beer and wine). It really was like a hip, communal office space.

From what I hear, the place gets packed at times, and awkward requests for table-sharing inevitably commence. Parking can also be tricky, but luckily in this neighborhood they’re serving a lot of walkers and bicyclers. Anyway, these drawbacks are really just signs of the spot’s popularity. If I ever end up freelancing or otherwise self-employed, Flightpath will be a leading candidate for my “home office away from home.”

Flightpath Coffee House exterior

This Hyde Park coffee destination has a shaded patio area with plenty of power outlets. Photo by Lara Berendt.

4 responses to “Make Flightpath your Hyde Park home office

  1. This is very needed in my opinion. I kept thinking library while reading. Even some of the Libraries on campus are loud, so I wish this was a little closer to my college location.

  2. Destinee Hodge

    I’m glad to know that there’s a quiet coffeehouse near where I live. The constant sounds of espresso machines, frappuccinos being being blended and wannabe reggae music (so characteristic of most coffee shops) are not my idea of an ideal study environment. Thanks for this tip.

  3. Flightpath is my favorite. I love walking in and people giving angry looks to people on cell phones. They really respect studiers, nerds, and coffee addicts. My favorite is the Irish Cream latte.

  4. Best study spot in town, and I love being close enough to walk. I’ve also had business meetings there. It’s quite accommodating. And next to a bike shop!

    I’m looking forward to your review of Quacks, which is nearby, and is nearly the exact opposite of Flightpath — often loud music, tiny tables, bigger menu, full kitchen and bakery. It’s an interesting contrast. I like them both, but not for the same things.

Leave a Reply

